CNPEM Governance

The Brazilian Center for Research in Energy and Materials (CNPEM), a private legal entity and non-profit organization established under Brazilian Law 9.637/1998 as a social organization, was founded to promote and contribute to scientific and technological development and innovation in Brazil, as well as for training through its national laboratories, research units, and teaching institutions.

As a social organization, the CNPEM is overseen by the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MCTI) through a management agreement with the federal government establishing a partnership to foster and carry out activities related to scientific research, technological development, and technology transfer.

The CNPEM’s bylaws are registered with the First Hall of Corporate Records in Campinas, São Paulo under record 80.596. The CNPEM is administered by a General Assembly, Board of Directors, Finance Committee and Directors; according to Brazilian Law 9.637/1998, the Board of Directors has various private-sector powers.

Notably, the CNPEM adopts corporate governance practices based on transparency, equity, account rendering, and social responsibility, in line with best practices in Brazil and abroad.

Management Board

The CNPEM Management Board is comprised of members recommended by the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation, the Brazilian Academy of Sciences (ABC), the Brazilian National Association of Research and Development in Innovative Companies (ANPEI), the Brazilian Society for the Progress of Science (SBPC), and private society, as well as members elected by the Board of Directors and the General Assembly, chosen from among professionals who are well-known in their areas of activity and recognized for their good moral character.

Name Category Nomination/Qualification
Elias Ramos de Souza “Nato” member | Public Authority Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MCTI)
Marcia Cristina Bernardes Barbosa “Nato” member | Public Authority Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MCTI)
Raphael Padula “Nato” member | Public Authority Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MCTI)
Reginaldo dos Santos (Vice-president) “Nato” member | Public Authority Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MCTI)
Júlio César Piffero de Siqueira “Nato” member | Public Authority MCTI/MEC
Jailson Bittencourt de Andrade “Nato” Member | Civil Society Brazilian Academy of Sciences (ABC)
Marcela Chami Gentil Flores “Nato” Member | Civil Society Associação Nacional de Pesquisa e Desenvolvimento das Empresas Inovadoras (ANPEI)
Paulo Eduardo Artaxo Netto “Nato” Member | Civil Society Sociedade Brasileira para o Prograsso da Ciência (SBPC)
Maurilio Biagi Filho Elected member Civil society
Silvia Stanisçuaski Guterres Elected member Researcher
Selma Maria Bezerra Jeronimo Elected member Researcher
Rogério Cézar de Cerqueira Leite (President) Elected member Entrepreneur
Virgínia Sampaio Teixeira Ciminelli Elected member Professional related to the area of science and technology policy
Antonio Rubens Britto de Castro Elected member Members’ representative

Finance Committee

Members of the Finance Committee are chosen by the Board of Directors for their known capacity and their good moral character, and have no connections whatsoever with the CNPEM.

Name Category
Walter Mallas Machados de Barros (President) Independent
Anderson Lozi da Rocha MCTI representative
Laudir Francisco Schmitz Independent


The directorship of the CNPEM is responsible for management, execution, and oversight, and is composed of the Director General, the Directors of the Brazilian Synchrotron Light National Laboratory (LNLS), Brazilian Biosciences National Laboratory (LNBio), Brazilian Biorenewables National Laboratory (LNBR), Brazilian Nanotechnology National Laboratory (LNNano), and the Ilum School of Science, as well as the Shared Services directorship.

Head Phone number
Director General of CNPEM
Antonio José Roque da Silva (19) 3512-1011
Deputy Director of Technology
James Francisco Citadini (19) 3512-1254
Shared Services Director Renata de Vasconcellos Aquino (19) 3512-1270
Synchrotron Light (LNLS) Harry Westfahl Jr. (19) 3512-1271
Biosciences (LNBio) Maria Augusta Arruda (19) 3512-1013
Biorenewables (LNBR) Eduardo do Couto e Silva (19) 3518-3118
Nanotechnology (LNNano) Rodrigo Barbosa Capaz (19) 3518-3156
Ilum School of Science Adalberto Fazzio (19) 3756-9102